Nintex Connect

The Official Community Site for Nintex Software Products, including Nintex Workflow 2007, 2010 and 2013; Nintex Workflow for Project Server 2010; Nintex Reporting 2008 and Nintex Analytics 2010; Nintex Forms 2010; Nintex Live and Nintex SmartLibrary.
Welcome to Nintex Connect Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Workflow history after 60 days

Last post 04-16-2010, 11:17 AM by Peter D. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  06-19-2009, 3:50 PM 4584

    Workflow history after 60 days

    Hello,

    sharepoint standardly deletes detail of history of workflow for the file after 60 days. Does Nintex workflow use standard sharepoint history mechanism, so should we expect the same behavior ?

    Thank you

    iku

     

    Filed under:
  •  06-19-2009, 5:15 PM 4588 in reply to 4584

    Re: Workflow history after 60 days

    Hi iku

    The history will be retained.

    When SharePoint cleans up workflow history after 60 days, it does not actually delete items from the history list. It just removes the association between the SharePoint workflow history page and the list item. Also, the workflow status column will change to empty.

    When you go to the Nintex workflow history page (from the 'view workflow history' link in the menu item), and click through to the text view, there are three sections:

    Action log

    Task information

    Message

    Action log and Task information is taken from our database, and the Message section is taken from the history list. We do not automatically purge data from the database, and as SharePoint doesn't actually remove items from the history list after 60 days, all the data will remain.

    regards

    James

  •  04-15-2010, 8:15 PM 9986 in reply to 4588

    Re: Workflow history after 60 days

    Hello,

    Sorry to openup this topic again. But I'm a little bit confused with this answer because also saw this topic: http://connect.nintex.com/forums/thread/1486.aspx

    So is it so that entries in "view workflow history" will always show the full history, but the entries under "workflows" will be cleaned up?

    Regards,

    Peter

  •  04-16-2010, 11:17 AM 10009 in reply to 9986

    Re: Workflow history after 60 days

    Hi,

    Yes, that is correct and the automatic cleanup can be disabled, as decried in this tech net article: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc298800.aspx.

View as RSS news feed in XML
Powered by Community Server, by Telligent Systems